It’s Ubuntu Evolution BABY!!!

Alright… I was siting on my computer with a little time to share…

I have seen several cool OS evolution, Fedora’s, and much recently I saw Window’s (they missed Millennium Edition). I have seen tons and tons of screenshots of Ubuntu screenshots on the web. So I decided to set up this little evolution for the Ubuntu desktops…

As I looked at them I remembered different moments in my last two years. It literally brought tears in my eyes. and one can only wait til Gutsy hits the mainstream :D.

This is a tribute to the Desktop Team… CHEERS GUYS…

P.S. maybe someone can do the same for Kubuntu, Xubuntu, Edubuntu, add infinitum… ;)

THE UBUNTU DESKTOP EVOLUTION

Ubuntu 4.10 Warty Warthog

Released Oct 20th, 2004

Notes: Initial release, support for x86, x86-64, PowerPC. ShipIt.

Ubuntu 5.04 Hoary Hedgehog

Released April 8th, 2005

NOTES: Inclusion of update-manager/upgrade-notifier, Kickstart compatibility, improved laptop support.

Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger

Released October 13th, 2005

NOTES: Graphical boot process with progress bar (USplash), OEM Installer Support, Launchpad tracking, GCC 4.0

Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Drake (LTS)

Released June 1st, 2006

NOTES: LiveCD and Installer on one disc, Ubiquity installer. First Long-Term Support release. The next LTS release is planed for Feisty+2.

 

Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft

Released October 26th, 2006

 

NOTES: Automated problem reports, Upstart.

Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Released April 19th, 2007

NOTES: Migration assistant, KVM, Easy codec/restricted drivers installation, Desktop effects, WPA support, PowerPC support officially dropped.

About effiejayx

Ubuntu enthusiast... need I say more? :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s Ubuntu Evolution BABY!!!

  1. Edmundo says:

    Más vale que lloreis acordándote del momento en el que te puse el CD de Ubuntu en la mano! :-D jejeje

  2. Pingback: L’evoluzione dell’aspetto di Ubuntu « pollycoke :)

  3. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  4. Pingback: Ubuntu vs Windows: evoluzione nel tempo « Ispirazioni informatiche

  5. gianni says:

    Don’t use evolution and baby in the same sentence. It always remember me this clip from Pearl Jam

    “Its evolution, baby”

  6. effie_jayx says:

    I did it with that in mind ;)

  7. Harlem says:

    Very cool. I think looking back, the best background goes to “Hoary”. It looks much more unique than the others. This is a great retrospective.

  8. effie_jayx says:

    Hoary was my favorite one.. and it was my first ubuntu and linux experience :D

    I still sherish those cd’s I got one day of may :D

  9. Jack says:

    Brown to Orange. My times have changed.

  10. somebree says:

    Being Ubuntu a ‘beautified’ Debian clone, sinceresly … i’m not seeing any sign of evolution here. Really. Oh well, wait: promoting closed source and propietary tools like Launchpad … yeah, LOL.

    Nah, Ubuntu is only a popular distro for extremly newbie users, without any real technical merit implemented (except all the work … copied from Debian). It’s a shame that all the hard work done by Debian isn’t being recognized … a shame. Nice move, Mr. Shuttleworth. A really nice marketing move. Shame on you.

  11. effie_jayx says:

    Somebree… we passed that page a couple of years ago…

    Here’s the hint… Launchpad is opening up ;)

    http://www.linuxpr.com/releases/9840.html

    en avant

  12. Pingback: Evoluzione della specie | Andrea Bondi - Blog, Imola, Politica, Informatica...

  13. Pingback: Getting Emotional Over Ubuntu Linux (Excitement)

  14. lelmSwawl says:

    emm.. bookmarked..

  15. Merle says:

    hello!,I like your writing so so much! proportion we keep in touch more about your post on AOL?
    I require an expert in this space to unravel my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Having a look ahead to look you.

Leave a Reply

