MYSTONLINE to go Open Source

Well, one of my favorite games ever is going Open Source, MystOnline. The Original Videogame MYST was one of the first multimedia games I ever played on my PC.  It offered a great experience in terms of graphic and sound for its age. I remember playing this game in 1994 with lights out and it just offered a very realistic experience.

Today, I read this piece of news from www.linuxgames.com and learned something very unexpected but very pleasant, MystOnline will be opensourced😀. Fans will have access to the source code for the servers, client and tools for MystOnline as an open source project. They will also host a data server with the data for MystOnline. More is intended to be done but only with the help of fans.

It comes full circle I guess, one of the first MPC games I ever played has just gone Open Source. and This made my day. I can’t wait for a linux client for MystOnline.

you can read about it here, and you can check out the fan reaction to it here.

digg it!

About effiejayx

Ubuntu enthusiast... need I say more? :)
This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MYSTONLINE to go Open Source

  1. Bert_2 says:

    If you need to know anything more, as an Uru-ite I have been following Uru Live/Myst Online for years now😉

    And yeah, the open sourcing is great news, now all the cool hacks everyone has done are legal and we will finally have our own stable Uru server with windows, mac AND linux clients, including our own ages, stories music.

    Open Source makes things full of possibilities. (and for as far as I know this is the first Open Source MMO)

  2. tretle says:

    you have to wonder what license the art will be in?

  3. effie.jayx says:

    will it be by-sa, by-nc-sa? enough said

Leave a Reply

