MOTU Log entry #14: getting your tools ready.

Well, it is the beginnig of a development cycle, surely a great oportunity to learn and most important help mantain Universe. for this challenge one must get reading installing the tools needed. Thankfully the tools you are going to need are pretty well announced in every packaging training log and amost important in the documentation for Ubuntu Development

Yesterday I spent time installing them in 2 systems, one at my office and one at home. This way I can help from wherever I am. They are not difficult to install and I will list what I did.

I basically followed Daniel Holbach’s most recent list of tools from the trainging session log from April 26th, (last month). There are other lists of tools in the Packaging Guide Recipes, mostly right at the beginning of those documents. There are a set of tools that might needed for the thing you might be doing; packaging and update, merges and syncs, fixing a small bug, general improvement of the package, So please do doble check the recipes for other tools you might need.

In Daniel’s latest packaging training session he explains some of the basic tools we use almost everyday.

7:08 dholbach – build-essential gives you tools to compile packages
07:09 dholbach – cdbs and debhelper contain scripts that streamline the packaging of applications
07:09 dholbach – pbuilder is a tool to test-build packages in a sane environment
07:10 dholbach – ubuntu-dev-tools contains a few useful scripts for developing on Ubuntu (and will pull in devscripts that contains even more useful scripts for developing and packaging :-))

After I installed those tools, all I needed was set up my developer info in ~/.bashrc (since I use bash, if you use something different make sure you do the same for your shell),

export DEBFULLNAME=’Efrain Valles’

export DEBEMAIL=’effie-jayx@ubuntu.com’

These should match the info in your GPG key, if you don’t have a gpg key, make sure you read the Gnu Privacy Guard Howto in the Ubuntu Community Docs

After this was set, I prepared my chroot environments using Pbuilder. This will allow me to build packages and even test if the application is intended for a command line interface. Please do read the Pbuilder Howto to get a glimpse of what you can do with Pbuilder, especialy the Multiple Puilders if ou are planning on pacakging for the versions of Ubuntu and Debian.

After I read to understand the basic configuration of Pbuilder. I followed the instructions on the multiple pbuilders, I created a text file for  ~/.pbuilderrc file added the snippet with a great config, And thanks to Christophe Sauthier for pointing me to this.

After that I could create my chroot environment for maverick, which is the development versión of Ubuntu. this can takes a little while:

DIST=maverick sudo pbuilder create

And after that I should have all the components  downloaded and gzipped in

/var/cache/pbuilder/maverick-i386-base.tgz

Once you create it you need to update it regularly, just like you would if you have a full system running the development version of ubuntu. Updates stream in every day. So make sure you read carefully that Pbuilder Howto for other maintenance info.

After all this you should be ready to help out in Ubuntu Development. Stay tunned for more on my motu journey log.

P.S. Please do leave your commnets towards improving in this area, I still consider myself new in this subject. bare with me😉.

About effiejayx

Ubuntu enthusiast... need I say more? :)
This entry was posted in English, MOTU Journey Log, ubuntu-only and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

